Encouraging home gardening and seed saving since 1986

2015 Seedy Sunday – Edmonton, AB

2015 Seedy Sunday EdmontonEdmonton Seedy Sunday is a seed exchange and sale.

We hope promote and protect biodiversity, support seed savers and open pollinated/organic/heritage seed vendors.

Swap or donate your vegetable, fruit or flower seeds. Please package in a sealed envelope and label with as much info as you have!

Buy some organic (no GMO), heritage, and open-pollinated seeds from local vendors:
~ A’bunadh Seeds, Cherhill, AB http://gardenofeden2010.wordpress.com/
~ Broadview Farm, Millet, AB
~ Brother Nature Organic Seeds, Victoria, BC http://www.brothernature.ca/
~ Harmonic Herbs, Barrhead, AB http://harmonicherbs.com/
~ Planting Seeds Project, Lytton, BC http://www.plantingseedsproject.ca/
~ Prairie Garden Seeds, Humboldt, SK http://prseeds.ca/
~ Stellar Seeds, Kaslo, BC http://stellarseeds.com/
~ Suzanne Royale, Edmonton AB

Dig in to some nature crafts at the kid’s table!

Swap some gardening books and magazines.

Refresh with sweet & savoury snacks at the Seedy Cafe.

Enjoy free lectures from local speakers:
11:30 No Till Gardening: Thean Pheh
12:30 Native Bees: Ashton Sturm
1:30 Fruit Growing in Alberta: Sherwood Botsford
2:30 Grow a Bed-Head Garden: Claudia Bolli

Free demonstrations:
12:00 Grafting: Richard Heetun
2:00 Hydroponics for Beginners: Adrian Thornton

Learn about local organizations & businesses and chat with their members about what programs and services they offer:
~ Albertans For Food Safety http://ab4foodsafety.wix.com/actlocal
~ Beanstalk Honey http://northcookinglake.wordpress.com/
~ Devonian Botanical Gardens http://www.devonian.ualberta.ca/
~ Earth’s General Store http://earthsgeneralstore.ca/
~ Edmonton Area Land Trust http://ealt.ca/
~ Edmonton Front Yards In Bloom http://edmonton.ca/environmental/conservation_landscaping/front-yards-in-bloom.aspx
~ Edmonton Horticultural Society http://edmontonhort.com/
~ Edmonton Naturalization Group http://edmontonnaturalizationgroup.org/
~ Edmonton Permaculture http://edmontonpermaculture.ca/
~ Edmonton Southside Gardening Vegan & Vegetarian Grouphttp://www.meetup.com/edmonton-vegetarians/
~ Fruits of Sherbrooke http://fruitsofsherbrooke.ca/
~ Operation Fruit Rescue Edmonton http://operationfruitrescue.org/
~ Seeds Of Diversity http://seeds.ca/
~ Sprout Farms Apple Orchard and Tree Sense http://sproutfarms.ca/
~ Sustainable Food Edmonton (c/o City Farm, Community Gardens Network, Little Green Thumbs) http://sustainablefoodedmonton.org/
~ Thean Pheh, horticulturalist, author and local fruit growing and grafting expert http://avenueedmonton.com/articles/the-expert-thean-pheh
~ and more to be announced!

Admission is free. Donations are gladly accepted.

Connect with the facebook event page.

website powered by LIME COMMUNICATIONS